Suite italienne STRAVINSKY IGOR


Éditeur : Boosey and Hawkes
Référence : BH 13676

Disponible sous 3 à 5 Jours Disponible sous 3 à 5 Jours

Livraison gratuite Gagnez un bon d'achat dès 50€ *

30 jours pour changer d'avis

  • Date de parution : 08/09/2020
  • ISBN : 9790060136764



Gavotta con due variazione
Minuetto e Finale

Description :

This transcription of Suite italienne is the first full-scale composition by Igor Stravinsky to enter the double bass solo repertoire. Brian Powell, Associate Professor of Double Bass at the Frost School of Music, University of Miami, has adapted the versions of Suite italienne for violin and for cello as best suits the double bass. Moreover, he has widened the selection of movements, thus continuing a practice Stravinsky established with his instrumental collaborators (Dushkin and Piatigorsky) of allowing the performers to select material from the ballet Pulcinella. In this case the movements comprise Introduzione, Serenata, Aria, Vivo, Tarantella, Gavotta con due variazione, Scherzino and Minuetto e Finale. The Vivo movement is derived directly from the orchestral Pulcinella Suite: widely recognised by classical bassists as one of the most significant solos in the orchestral repertoire, the bass part is faithfully reproduced as in the original score.
Suite italienne has music that will appeal to bassists of various performance levels – solo, chamber and orchestral bassists alike will appreciate different aspects of this music. The suite also possesses an abundance of flare and technical virtuosity that will excite audiences.

+ de détails